LA atypical attractions

Last year when I visited LA, I knew I had to take a gander at their paranormal scene. In doing so, I spent time in the Museum of Death in Hollywood and I explored the Cecil Hotel in Downtown LA. Both were pretty neat to visit.

The Museum of Death in Hollywood was worth whatever I paid to enter. Exhibits included photographs, belongings, even body parts. It was surreal to see evidentiary support for creepy and horrible crimes. Photos were not allowed inside, but there are quite a few images that are burned into my memory. Photos from the Black Dahlia murder, various taxidermied creatures, as well as various photos of serial killers and their victims. It’s a tough museum to get through especially if you have a weak stomach, but there is a lot to see inside. 10/10 would recommend.

The other notable location I visited was the Cecil Hotel. If you’re familiar with American Horror Story, the season, Hotel, is roughly based on the Cecil Hotel. It is supposedly the last place Elizabeth Short (Black Dahlia) was seen alive. Richard Ramirez “The Night Stalker” killed 13 women while staying there. Elisa Lam a young college student was found dead in the water tank atop the hotel. There is footage of her acting extremely unorthodox in an elevator. Nothing noteworthy happened in the hotel, but it did give me the heebie jeebies. The hotel has since lost it’s high quality feel, and is not called “Stay On Main.” It’s a neat place to visit but I would not recommend booking a room.

Leave a Reply

